Dairy Free · Desserts · Frosting · Gluten Free · Grain Free · paleo · Vegan

Champagne & Macaroons

FullSizeRender_1

I love being a proponent for healthy eating, but I really love that eating healthy doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy desserts… and champagne (yay!). So why not combine these wonderful things to create a deliciously healthy dessert?

FullSizeRender_2

I know what you’re thinking, champagne can be expensive. True. But a little bubbly doesn’t have to be! Champagne has a strongly protected reputation amongst the French but you can certainly find an affordable sparkling wine even in France like the cre’mant.

Other popular bubbly favorites are the Spanish Cava, Italian Proseccos or Asti’s, and of course, Sekt from Germany and Austria. My favorite is Schloss Biebrich Sekt (hello Germany) from Trader Joe’s of all places ($5.99) and rated as one of the best wines under $20. Not too shabby!

FullSizeRender

So I decided to use this not too shabby, champagne in my Champagne Macaroons. I do enjoy “baking with booze” but in this instance, I’m trying out recipes for the Orlando Science Center‘s Science of Wine fundraiser event where I will be doing a healthy dessert demonstration. I’ll be talking healthy foods, ingredients and yes, wine, as I whip up a deliciously healthy dessert! So if you make these Champagne Macaroons in your homes, please tell me what you think!

IMG_2021Champagne Macaroons

  • 1/3c coconut butter (not solid)
  • 4T maple syrup
  • 2T Champagne (substitute more maple syrup)
  • 1T Vanilla extract
  • pinch of pink Himalayan salt
  • 2c shredded unsweet coconut

Directions

This recipe is, like most of my recipes, really simple. Begin by preheating the over to 325°F. In a large mixing bowl stir together all of your liquid ingredients and add the pinch of pink Himalayan salt (brings out the sweetness). Now begin to mix in the dry shredded coconut.

This is where is gets messy. Use your hands to make sure everything is well incorporated and begin forming the “batter” into mounds and set on a greased, or parchment lined, baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes.FullSizeRender

When finished, remove from the oven and let cool. I drizzled mine with a simple Berry icing. The icing was made by blending coconut butter, mixed berries and non-dairy milk, though chocolate might be good too… let me know what you try and have a beautiful day!IMG_1997new welli dessert logo

Leave a Reply

