Vegan

Homemade Bailey’s… done right!

Florida is finally experiencing the cold! (Granted, I think anything below 70 is freezing). But with that said, it is actually 55°F out, which means… we’re serving up our drinks HOT!  Which is why I came up with my own dairy free, low-sugar, homemade, fantastic Baileys!! A perfect addition to my coffee.

Baileys2Back in the day, I was a big fan of the traditional Bailey’s drink, but nowadays I avoid dairy completely, so this was a fun sip down memory lane.

Some people avoid dairy because it causes symptoms like bowel issues, eczema, acne, wheezing, etc. I avoid it because of the acidity in the dairy was actually leaching calcium from my teeth and bones! At the age of 22 I had osteopenia (pre-osteoporosis) and I started getting “natural” dark spots on my teeth that had to be cleaned regularly… the whole acne thing might have been an embarrassing issue, too… but now that I’m living a dairy free life, my skin has cleared, my teeth are back to pearly white and the osteopenia is gone!

Granted, this is my personal experience and there are certainly critics, but these are three reasons to consider going dairy free yourself:

  1. Dairy doesn’t contribute to bone health – Long term studies have suggested that dairy does not help with bone density but may actually increase fractures by as much as 50%. Other studies have revealed that the countries consuming the most dairy may actually have higher rates of osteoporosis.
  2. Dairy may increase cancer risk – Some research has shown an association between lactose (found in milk) and ovarian and breast cancer. And for you men, dairy consumption is linked to an increase in prostate cancer by as much as 50 percent!
  3. You’re not a cow – Milk is used to feed a little baby calf, so it can grow to be a not-so-little 1,000 pound cow in the course of a year… just something to consider…

But again, that’s my view, so do what’s right for you! If you’re worried about calcium, there are plenty of great sources including almonds, beans and just about any leafy green veggie! Now on to this fabulous dairy-free Bailey’s recipe!

Baileys1Bailey’s Done Right!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1 c strong coffee (I used Barnies White Christmas)
  • 2/3c Irish Whiskey
  • 3T maple syrup
  • Stevia to sweeten; 1/16 uncut organic or 3 packets regular stevia
  • *cinnamon, nutmeg (optional)

Directions:

On the stove top, pour the contents of both cans of coconut milk and bring to a light boil, then simmer for 10-15 minutes. The coconut milks will have reduced a bit. Stir in your coffee, sweeteners and optional spices.

Time for the best part, add in the Whiskey. Don’t boil or it will burn of the alcohol! Now taste and see what you think! Feel free to add more maple or stevia if you’d prefer a sweeter drink.

I prefer to add my Bailey’s to a hot cup of coffee and enjoy with a delightful dessert. To some, it is dessert and best served over ice! However you drink it, drink up!

Leave a Reply

