Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Plantains · Vegan

Maple Walnut Blondies and Grain Free Living

Now that Autumn has commenced, something has gone off in my lady brain and I must now take in all the aspects of Fall that I possibly can. Sundays will be from here on out dedicated to church and football viewing (go Seahawks!); pumpkin will be  in darn near every meal, and the smell of cinnamon will saturate the air until Christmas…at which time all things peppermint will take over.

maple blondies4

So on this not so bright and sunny day, I am whipping up warm Maple Walnut Blondies. I love when my kitchen is warm and cozy and filled with the delicious aroma of maple.

I’ve thrown myself an additional challenge (because gluten free, low sugar and vegan just isn’t enough). This month, I’ve been challenging myself to avoid grains completely! I know, it’s crazy, but people like Abel James (The Fat Burning Man), Dave Asprey (Bulletproof Exec) and Gary Taubes (author of The Grain Brain) are throwing out some crazy ideas that I thought I’d experiment with… I’ll let you know more about the research and my personal experiment as I learn and grow. So what am I replacing these grains with? FAT! Delicious, savory, and oh-so-healthy fat; particularly coconut oil. And what better way to celebrate this new food adventure than with dessert!

maple blondies2

Maple Walnut Blondies

(Gluten free, Grain free, vegan, no added sugar, pretty dang tasty!)

Ingredients:

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 300°F and line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper or lightly grease with coconut oil.

In a blender, puree the very ripe plantain with the other wet ingredients. In a separate bowl, sift together your dry ingredients (except the walnuts). Now pour your puree into the dry ingredients and stir until everything is well combined. Mix in the walnuts (or don’t, your choice).

Make a sandwich with yummy coconut butter!
Make a sandwich with yummy coconut butter!

Pour the batter into your 8X8 pan and place in the oven. Let bake for 45min. Let the blondies cool before slicing into their deliciousness!

new welli dessert logo

One thought on “Maple Walnut Blondies and Grain Free Living

Leave a Reply

