Dairy Free · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Sides · Vegan

Nacho Cheese

So I was watching the show Chopped with the hubby (I am slightly addicted to this show) and while at the same time, I’m disgusted by some of the basket ingredients. Though I think a lot of the reason I like the show is because it does give me some awesome ideas.

chopped

One of In In this particular episode, the basket item was “ball park nachos”. You know, the stale corn chips covered in an orange goo that’s just one chemical ingredient away from being plastic….

ball park nachos2Anyway, I felt inspired that evening to make nachos for dinner and use one of my favorite, non-junky cheese recipes. I looked in the pantry and saw I was out of cashews (frowny face) which seem to be the basis of most my cheese recipes. So in my own “chopped-esque” way, I thought, “darn it, I’m making cheese with what I’ve got!” and “what I’ve got” was tofu…

yuck face3 yuck faceyuck face2

All the tofu haters, just haven’t used this delightful ingredient to it’s full capacity. My friends, please, embrace the tofu!

tofu love

Actually, most my friends and family have unknowingly and joyfully consumed tofu on more than one occasion. So here is just one more awesome way to enjoy this culinary treasure, and who doesn’t love cheese, right?

tofu cheese

Nacho Cheese Sauce

  • 6oz firm tofu (definitely go for organic and sprouted if you can)
  • 1/4c almond milk; or non-dairy milk of choice
  • 1/4c arrowroot starch (a non-GMO corn starch will work, too)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 4T *juice from a jar of jalapenos (or more almond milk)
  • 1T miso paste (optional, but great flavor)
  • 1/4c nutritional yeast
  • 1/2t lemon juice
  • 1T onion powder
  • 1T garlic powder
  • 1/2T salt (or more)
  • sun-dried tomatoes, cumin, chili powder, cayenne, red pepper are all great additions…

Directions:

Tofu and almond milk in a food processor or high powered blender and process till smooth.  Begin adding your other ingredients and blend, blend, blend.  Then be sure to taste!  Add more nutritional yeast to kick up the cheesey taste or more seasoning/ garlic to enhance the cheese’s flavor.  If it’s too thick or you’d prefer a runnier sauce, add a bit more almond milk or water.  Once you’ve reached the consistency and taste you like, you’re all done, so enjoy.

nacho time

Bonus, enjoy the fact that you know what’s in your cheese…. can’t really say the same about the ones at the ball park… #getWelli !

One thought on “Nacho Cheese

Leave a Reply

