Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Vegan

Trail Mix Cookies

My final “F” word for my short series of them, which included, Faith, Family, and, of course, food, is Fitness.  I’m not talking about being a gym junkie or running marathons and working yourself into a lean, mean, sexy beast (unless you want to), I’m talking about staying physically active and doing something to get you movin’.

Personally, I love going to the gym in the morning and have the place to myself.

fitness6

I usually start out on a recumbent bike so that I can multi-task; thanks Oprah!  I like to do my devotionals, catch up on emails and read as I work up a sweat.  Then a little running and weight lifting and I’m ready to start a new day with a clear focus.  This takes all of one hour in the morning, it is my “me time” to de-stress and prepare for the day.  Every now and then, I enjoy a good race or mudrun.  Yoga (of the hot variety) and paddle-boarding are also high on my list.  However, I don’t have to do these things or force myself.  I found ways to incorporate Fitness that I actually enjoy.

fitness

I know a lot of folks tell me they force themselves to work out to lose weight.  Hate to burst your bubbles folks, but exercise is not linked to weight-loss *gasp*.  But…exercise is still super beneficial because it helps reduce your risk of heart disease, dementia, type 2 diabetes and some other  not so awesome diseases and health issues. So find something to keep you active that you actually enjoy!  Go out and shake your boo-tay on the dance floor, go for a walk with your girl friends, or get lost on a trail you’ve not explored (thank goodness for Google Maps!).

fitness5

The point is, when it comes to Fitness, (don’t force yourself ) do what you enjoy and do it with the right intention.  If you are concerned about losing weight, start with changing the way you eat.

Here’s a fun snack for you to take on your next stroll or yoga session.  [I thought of taking them hiking… till I realized I live in Florida, and my apartment is probably the highest elevation I’ll find!].

Trail Mix Cookies
Trail Mix Cookies

Trail Mix Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1c brown rice flour
  • 1c sorghum flour
  • 2t baking powder
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/2c sunflower seed butter
  • 2T coconut oil
  • 1/2c plus 2T applesauce
  • 1/4c maple syrup
  • 1t molasses
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1/2c trail mix [or make your own, I like walnuts, dried unsweetened cherries & cacao nibs]
  • *optional: cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger

Eat well. Stay Active. Be happy and healthy!

fitness2

Leave a Reply

