Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Raw · Vegan

Bacon Jalapeno Cheesecake

Continuing my tale of my favorite “F” words.  Today’s “F” word (no worries, still G-rated) is FAITH.  For anyone that follows me on Facebook or Twitter, you know that my faith is oh-so-important to me. “Faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see” [Heb 11:1].  And this great hope is what I cling to.  I must cling to hope.

faith

Life is crazy uncertain and challenging at times.  I didn’t plan to have my job and my sense of security pulled out from under me, my friend didn’t plan to lose her husband at such a young age, and I’m certain my new friend (who I know only through Facebook) never dreamed of battling cancer. We each face our own challenges, but we hope God has a greater purpose for us, we hope greater things will come out of these events, and we hope to come out stronger on the other side of whatever battles we face.  Faith is what gives each of us great hope.

faith 3

On a much lighter note, but still regarding Faith, I’m thankful my family has Faith in my cooking and baking skills…  Even when I throw something crazy at them, like a Bacon Jalapeno Cheesecake!faith 4

This cake was met with rave reviews, so I wanted to share the recipe with you now.  Have a slice and have faith that you will make it through whatever challenge you’re facing.

jalapeno cheesecake
BACON JALAPENO CHEESECAKE

vegan, grainfree, no refined sugars

Ingredients:

  • 1c raw cashews (soak for at least two hours and drain)
  • 1/2c non-dairy milk
  • 1/2t organic lemon juice
  • 1t vanilla extract
  • 1T nutritional yeast
  • 1-2 jalapeno(s)  [seeds removed… unless you want it super spicy!]
  •  3T lucuma powder
  • 3T  Maca powder
  • 1/3c melted cacao butter
  • 1/8t+ stevia to sweeten

Topping:

bacon3

Directions:

Here’s the easy part if the ingredients overwhelmed you.  in a blender (I use a vitamix), begin blending your cashews and liquids until super smooth.  Once it’s nice and creamy, begin adding your dry ingredients and your jalapeno!  Sweeten with stevia.

You should have a very thick and creamy batter.  If it’s not spicy enough, add more jalapeno.  If it’s not sweet enough, add a bit more stevia.  Too thick? Add a little non-dairy milk, though it should be very thick.  Too thin? Add a little more maca and lucuma.

Now that you have your “batter” at the right consistency.  Grease two small ramekin dishes or a 4″ spring form ban and pour in your batter.  Let sit in the freezer for at least 4 hours.  Thaw for 20min before serving and top with the uber tasty “bacon” before serving.

Have a little Faith, because this tastes ah-mazing!faith 2

Leave a Reply

