Dinner · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Raw · Sides · Vegan

I Can’t Believe it’s not BACON!

What’s your favorite “F” word?  I have several (and no, nothing bad, sorry to disappoint!), and in no particular order they are: Food, Faith, Family and Fitness.  After a great Father’s day spent with both my father-in-law and my dad, and the rest of my delightful family, I thought family would be a great shout out today.  Today’s post is brought to you by the letter “F” for Family.

My family is super awesome, and I’m not ashamed to admit they just happen to double as some of my best friends.  The importance of family was always instilled in us at an early age.  Dinner time was always family time and always at the table.  There was always a night or two in the week meant for a family movie or board games and weekends consisted of enjoying the Pacific Northwest.  Hiking, biking, boating, fishing, you name it, we did it as a family; the perks of growing up in Washington.

View More: http://alabasterjarphotography.pass.us/jimandkristine
Our wedding in October. My handsome hubby and my beautiful family. And yes, that is kale in my bouquet!

As much as we have in common (like the desire to live in sunny Florida), there are a few things we don’t all share.  For instance, my meat-loving father doesn’t understand my veggie loving ways, and we can happily tease each other back and forth.  I took this Father’s Day as a challenge to create him a (vegan) dessert that he would enjoy.  He’d raved about a bacon and jalapeno cheesecake he’d eaten recently… challenge accepted!

First things first (the cheesecake recipe will come later),  here is the recipe for that awesome Bacon!

bacon3Bacon Done Right

Ingredients:

  • 1c coconut chips
  • 1t tamari or soy sauce
  • 1t maple syrup
  • 1t liquid smoke
  • 1/2t paprika
  • 1/2t pepper

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 330F* and line a small baking pan with parchment paper. In a small bowl, stir together your liquid ingredients.  Now add your coconut and give it all a good stir; I let it sit for about five minutes to make sure it got a good soak.  Now sprinkle the mixture with paprika and pepper.  Spread the marinated coconut on the parchment paper and bake it for 30 minutes.  After 15 min, give it a good shake and then bake for the remaining time.

bacon2*To keep it raw, go ahead and use a dehydrator.

This bacon was so stinkin’ good!  My dad and brother couldn’t believe it wasn’t bacon.  And my dad (who not only loves meat, but it also not fond of dessert) demanded I leave the leftovers for him.  Holy validation!  I could not be happier than to win the approval of one of my toughest critics; love my dad!  And most definitely love my family for being my beta testers.

I'll have seconds...
I’ll have seconds…

All I can say is, love, value, and appreciate the family you have for as long as you can. And this happy piggy family thanks you for not choosing pork!

bacon4

One thought on “I Can’t Believe it’s not BACON!

Leave a Reply

