Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Vegan

White Chocolate Raspberry Cake

“When you like what your doing, and your surrounded by the people whose company you enjoy, you’ll never work a day in your life.”  My husband reminds me of that often and as I pursue starting my new business, Welli Desserts. I couldn’t be more excited to be promoting healthy living (and desserts) alongside my hubby.  Dessert + my husband = happiness. If anyone else needs reminding of this, here are 10 Reasons why you might consider following your passion.

Passion (1) passion7

passion6 passion5

Doing what I love has found me working harder than (I shouldn’t admit) I did at my previous jobs.  I’m working for hours on my feet developing recipes, reaching out to people in the community I’ve always wanted to speak with and learning all the tech jargin I never thought I could.  It’s exciting, it’s scary, it’s wonderful… it’s a startup!

passion 4

On one of my delightful outings to meet members of the community, I met with the VP of one of the areas larger health and wellness company’s.  After meeting with him, I received an e-mail from his wife asking if I would make a cake for their daughter’s birthday. “Of course!”, I said, knowing I make an awesome chocolate cake with a delicious caramel frosting.  “Can you make a white chocolate raspberry cake?” she asked.  “Sure thing,” I said, but mentally I’m thinking, “Oh my lanta! how am I going to pull this off?”  Well with a little innovation and research (and one failed attempt), I made a beautiful and delicious white chocolate and raspberry cake.

And just so you don’t have to go through that same struggle, here is my recipe:

White Chocolate Raspberry Cake
White Chocolate Raspberry Cake

*makes a 2-layer cake… you might be able to stretch it to 3!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2c almond flour
  • 1 1/2c sorghum flour
  • 1/2c arrowroot starch (minus 2T)
  • 2T potato starch (you might be able to use just the arrowroot starch….)
  • 1T physillium husk (helps the cake rise a bit, but feel free to omit)
  • 2t baking soda
  • 2t baking powder
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1 1/3 c unrefined sugar (sucanat is good)
  • 1/4c chia seeds
  • 2c water
  • 1 1/2T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 big apple cored and chopped
  • 1/4c coconut oil
  • 2T vanilla extract

wcc5

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 330F.  In a high performance blender, throw in your ingredients from the chia seeds on down the list.  DO NOT BLEND, yet.  Give the chia seeds a little stir and let them soak up some of that water for 5 minutes.  In the mean time, sift together all of your dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl or kitchenaid stand-mixer (I’m in love with mine!).

Now you may blend away.  Pour your wet batter into the dry and mix till everything is incorporated.  Pour your batter between two greased 9″ cake pans.  [I probably could have made three layers; with 8″ cake pans you could definitely divide the batter between three or maybe four.  Let me know what you did].

Bake cakes for 25 minutes, or until you can insert a knife in the center and it comes out clean.  Let the cakes cool before you begin to frost and stack them. [Click here for more frosting ideas].

WCCI frosted the middle of the cake with a bit of the white chocolate frosting

and a raspberry jam.  I made the jam by boiling fresh raspberries and chia seeds with a little cabernet and maple syrup and till reduced and jelly like, then blended it to break down all the seeds.

white chocolate cake

White Chocolate Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 can white beans
  • 1/3c melted cacao butter
  • 12 pitted medjool dates
  • 1T coconut oil
  • 1T lemon juice
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • *optional; maple syrup and/or stevia to sweeten
  • coconut or almond milk; pour till you like the consistency of your frosting

wcc3This was probably one of my lengthiest recipes but the outcome was soooo worth it!  And I have to say, I loved the challenge.  Anyone else feeling challenged lately?  How do you face challenges?  head-on or procrastination central?

If you decide to make this cake, let me know how you liked it!

passion3

 

Leave a Reply

