Dairy Free · Gluten Free · Sides · Vegan

Homemade Cheese!

FullSizeRender
Homemade Cheese! (and it’s vegan, too!)

I hear from a lot of people say, “I could never give up dairy, I just love cheese.”  Well, I like cheese, too.  My skin, on the other hand, does not.  Me + dairy = breakout city… so I made the switch to non-dairy cheese.

Non-dairy cheeses, while okay, were certainly not cheap! So the vegan chef in me decided to make my own cheese.  I’m not talking about the delicious queso, alfredos, ricotta‘s or cream cheeses I’ve made in the past.  I’m talking about the solid cheese you can grate, you can slice and you can devour on a cracker! (Gluten free, of course!).  [click here for a “How-to” video]

Here is the recipe for sliceable, shreddable, oh-so-incredible CHEESE!

FullSizeRender_2Cheese

vegan, gluten free

  • 1c non dairy milk (or water)
  • 1 1/2T agar agar *
  • 1/3c soaked cashews (or almonds)
  • 1/4c nutritional yeast
  • salt to season (get crazy with other seasonings, too).

Directions:

In a small pot bring 1 cup liquid and agar agar to a boil.  Once boiling, add to a blender with the remaining ingredients.  Blend, blend, blend until everything is mixed.  You should have a nice liquid that’s not very thick (kind of like milk).  Pour liquid into two small greased ramekin bowls and place in the refrigerator.  Leave overnight; or for 3 hours at least to solidify.

[You might also try putting it in the freezer for a half hour and then the fridge to reduce wait time… but I haven’t tried.]

FullSizeRender_1And there you have it!  Your very own cheese to slice, spread or shred however you desire.  And the next time you make it, get crazy with your ingredients!  Try adding sun dried tomatoes and garlic, or cayenne and artichokes, cinnamon and stevia?…  Go nuts!… oh,maybe try different nuts!…  and tell me about any awesome combinations you make.

Also, for those of you who read my last post, I’m starting a business!  Any advice or support (financial or otherwise) would sure help get this “Welli Revolution” off the ground, thanks!

What is Welli?

 

One thought on “Homemade Cheese!

Leave a Reply

