Desserts · Grain Free · Vegan

Chocolate Cayenne Cherry Cookies

This year has been a year of highs and a lot of lows.  I got married, yay!  The company I worked for closed and I became unemployed… lame.  I got a new car, yay!  And now for the first time, I am experiencing car payments… lame.  And then a very good friend of mine passed away unexpectedly… I don’t think you stop missing someone.  But with his passing and my new circumstances, I am inspired to do what I love.  My friend went to heaven doing what he loved and we should all be so lucky to live a life doing what we love.  We only have this short and precious time on earth.

I don’t want my career to be selling someone else’s dream (of course I’ll have to get a job to get things going) but I want to begin achieving my dreams.  What does that mean?  I have started a business!  Say hello to Welli Desserts (http://www.Wellidesserts.com).  Welli is focused on providing healthy desserts and baked goods to the offices in my area.

businesscardfront

What I love about being in the business world, are the wonderful people I’ve had the opportunity to work with over the last ten years.  What I didn’t like, was seeing those people constantly sick or in the hospital because of illness.  The majority of of these cases are preventable with a good diet.  Good diet does not equal no desserts.  I’m out to prove you can live well and eat really well.  Just because a baked good is healthy doesn’t mean it has to taste awful.

And on that note, just because I throw cayenne powder in my cookies, doesn’t mean that spice won’t pair beautifully with cacao and cherries. like so:

Chocolate Cayenne Cherry Cookies

CESJRFxWEAEhIJi

Vegan, Grain free

Ingredients:

  • 1c hemp flour
  • 1/4c  each arrowroot starch and coconut flour
  • 1/3c cacao powder (go for the real stuff)
  • 1/4c maple syrup
  • 2T each applesauce and melted coconut oil
  • 1 flax egg (1T flax meal with 3T water; sit for five minutes)
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1/4-1-2t cayenne pepper
  • 1/2t cinnamon
  • few dashes of nutmeg (omit if you’d rather)
  • 3T chopped chocolate
  • 1/4c chopped dried cherries
  • pinch of salt
  • 1c coconut milk (you can sub half with hot water)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350F and lightly grease a cookie sheet.  Sift together your dry ingredients (not including cherries and chocolate) in a mixing bowl.  Now stir in your wet ingredients until well combined.  Fold in your chocolate chips and cherries next.

CESJRFnW0AEUclz

Using your hands grab a golf ball chunk of dough and roll it between your palms.  Flatten the ball and place on your baking sheet.  The cookies don’t spread, so feel free to set them close together.  Bake for 12-15 minutes.  Feel free to enjoy them as soon they’re out of the oven but don’t burn yourself!

Cheers to pursuing our dreams!

CESJRF3WYAEtOAd

Leave a Reply

