Dinner · Gluten Free · Peppers · Quinoa · Vegan

Southwestern Tempeh ala Chipotle

These last few weeks have been, well, rather strange.  2015 had started out so strong.  Being married is amazing, loving my new car, my Seahawks (at least) made it to the Superbowl, having an awesome year of sales at work and then, wham, we hear from the hire-ups that our company is closing.  The land owners will not renew our contract and suddenly I’m experiencing the “thrill” of being unemployed.

It’s not so bad, really.  I never saw myself staying in that position much longer, however, I wanted the time to really find a new position that would be a great fit for me.  So while I search for a new position and ponder, “what do I want to be when I grow up?”, I take advantage of this time to cook and bake. (Hey, maybe I could do that!?)

If I could find a way to use my passions (cooking, baking, fitness, and overall health) with my next career, that would be outstanding!  Until then, I do these things for pleasure and hope that I can make a positive change in the health and wellness of at least one person.

Today’s recipe:  South Western Tempeh (with a Chipotle flair)

Chipotle tempeh 2
Southwestern Tempeh (ala Chipotle)

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of tempeh (chopped into cubes)
  • 1/5 chopped onion
  • 1c chopped peppers (I used red and green)
  • 1c salsa
  • 2T tomato paste
  • 1/4c sriracha
  • 1-2 diced jalapenos (optional)
  • 1T lemon juice
  • 2T white wine
  • 1 can black beans
  • 3T cumin
  • 2T chili powder
  • 1T onion powder
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • salt to taste

Directions:

Lightly grease a large, deep pan with coconut oil and saute your tempeh until the edges are brown.  Remove the tempeh and set it to the side.

Next up, saute your onions and peppers (optional jalapenos, too) until soft.  Now you can begin to add your white wine to deglaze the pan a bit.

The fun part has arrived, there is no real order to this (or at least not one that I followed, but I just began adding all of the other ingredients, the tempeh, too, and seasoned it until I liked the taste.  Let it simmer a bit to really develop the flavor of the spices.

What I was left with was this delicious southwestern tempeh (ala Chipotle).

Chipotle Tempeh

I served this deliciousness with quinoa, steamed veggies, sweet potatoes, sriracha queso, sprinkle of nutritional yeast and some guacamole; we like big servings!  Pardon the photo, I was a bit heavy handed with the guac!

Orlando City

We also thought we’d toast an Orlando City Soccer victory… well… we didn’t lose.  Go Lions!

Leave a Reply

