Breakfast · Grain Free · Vegan

Making Banana Pancakes…

*This page has lots of color and photos, please head to Palkieplace.com if you’re not seeing them.

I love when my husband (still love the sound of that) asks what we’re having for breakfast.  I ask him, “What would you like to eat?”.  To which he responds, “I don’t know, what do we have?”.  “What would you like, and I’ll tell you if we have it?” I reply.  I think we both get frustrated until he finally asks, “can you make those pancakes from Valentine’s day?”.   I tell him, “Yes, yes, I can make pancakes”.   And an hour later of frustrating questions and answers, the decision is made. Pancakes.  I hope deciding on breakfast is an easier process for the rest of you, though it is entertaining in our home.

To be fair, we’d also enjoyed a very long session of power yoga this morning so it might have been some hunger pains getting to us.  But here it is, a quick and simple recipe for some Banana Pancakes.  I dare you not to sing a little Jack Johnson while making these.

banana pancakes  3
Banana Pancakes

 

Banana Pancakes

grain free, vegan

(4 small, 2 regular, or one jumbo pancake)

  • 2/3 c garbanzo (or fava) flour
  • 1T each arrowroot starch* & Coconut flour
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1 well mashed banana
  • 1/3c almond milk*
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • cinnamon and nutmeg to taste

*feel free to use whatever starch or non dairy milk you like

 

Directions:

Put all you ingredients in a bowl and mix very well.  Feel free to add a little more milk to thin the batter a bit but it will be thick.

Lightly grease a pan and set on the stovetop.  Set to high, and when it’s plenty hot, pour your batter into the hot pan and cook for about 2 minutes.  Now flip your pancake(s), turn your stove to medium heat and let it cook through for another 2-4 minutes.

banana pancakes 4

For Valentines day I added fresh blueberries to the batter and topped it all with sliced strawberries and raspberries.  This time I added a few extra slices of banana to the batter and topped it all with real maple syrup (not that fake junk).

banana pancakes 2

The hubby eats his pancakes with a few nuts, berries, and a little syrup.  I top mine with peanut butter, berries and way too much syrup… what can I say, I have a sweet tooth! banana pancakes 1

Leave a Reply

