Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Vegan

Jam Cookies

*Some images may not appear, so be sure to check Http://www.PalkiePlace.com for the full post.  That said…

I love my German heritage.  My husband and I even took our recent honeymoon over to Europe and spent a good deal of time with family in Munich and Berlin.  We even spent my Omi’s 90th birthday with her.

handsome husband

What a great man I married, right?

handsome hubby

Who spends half the honeymoon with their grandmother, mother and a handful of other relatives.  We do!

marz family

Being in Germany reminds me of all the yummy cookies and cakes I enjoyed when I was younger.  One of my favorites were Husaren-Krapferl. But since I no longer eat wheat, dairy or eggs, I wanted to remake the “Jam Cookies” and then share my vegan, gluten free and equally delightful recipe with anyone that will listen.

Jam Cookies
Jam Cookies

Fig Jam Cookies

  • 3/4c coconut oil
  • 2 flax eggs (2T flax meal + 6T water; stir and let sit five minutes)
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 3/4c ground hazelnuts
  • 2c gluten free flour (I used brown rice)
  • 1/4c arrowroot starch
  • 1/4c coconut flour
  • 1/2 – 1t uncut stevia
  • 1/4t nutmeg
  • 1/2t cinnamon
  • 1 jar of fig jam

Directions:

In a mixing bowl, “cream together” coconut oil, flax eggs, vanilla, salt and stevia.  Once all that goodness is in the bowl slowly incorporate the rest of your ingredients (except for the fig jam).  Mix the ingredients well until you have a nice dough ball.  If it’s too dry, I like to add a little applesauce, or non-dairy milk.

Now place that nice dough ball in the fridge to cool for at least two hours… wait impatiently…

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Lightly grease a cookie sheet (parchment or a slipat also work).  Take your glourious dough ball from the fridge and begin to take golf ball-sized chunks of dough and roll them between your hands.  Press each ball down and, using your thumb, make a small divot.  The larger the divot, the more jammy goodness fits in there.

When you’ve finished laying out your divoted dough balls, bake in the over for 15-20 minutes.

Let the cookies cool for 10 minutes or so, then drop a glob of jam into the center of each cookie.  This is the difficult part for those of us who are impatient *hand raised*, leave your cookies on the counter to “dry” for at least 24 hours.

Once they’ve dried, you can add a sprinkling of powdered sugar all over them, or not.  I don’t need the extra sugar because I usually nibble on these with a nice glass of wine.

I used Trader Joe’s Fig Jam, but use whatever fig jam you’d like.  Or don’t.  Use raspberry, that’s delicious, too, or whatever jam you’d like!

After the long 24 hour wait, go ahead and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

