Dairy Free · Desserts · Frosting · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Plantains · Vegan

Carrot Cake Doughnuts and Holistic Healing

Raise your hand if you want to be a wedding planner! NOT THIS GIRL! Wedding planning has been a stressful experience (but I think I’m getting better). Through the stress of work, planning a wedding, a side project with the fiance and lots of traveling, I feel like I’ve been burning the candle at both ends.

There were a few things that tipped me off… waking up so exhausted that I couldn’t work out (I love getting up early and getting to the gym!), going to sleep WAY past my bedtime, having an extra glass of wine or two… or three… Finally, I woke up with huge, burning, red patches beneath one eye and on my cheek. Definitely NOT what I wanted to see 5 weeks before I get married. Not cool.

So, naturally, I went to the doctor. After two visits to my primary care physician and another visit to my dermatologist, the best answer either of them could give me was an allergy. I was prescribed Benadryl and a steroid ointment.  Of course this ointment made it worse!  So I gave it up!

I went back to my favorite things, eating well, sleeping 8 hours and working out and I can say that I did not have any ugly patches beneath my eye when I got married… check it out!

Our first walk (3)

Our wedding day could not have been more perfect and I could not have been more excited to be marrying my best friend.  Everyone must say that their wedding was perfect, and mine was, too.  We incorporated so much of ourselves into everything, from the Seahawks wedding garder, the wine cork boutonnieres to the vegan menu and desserts!  I even added a few of my own desserts to add to the event.

IMG_3482

My husband (*squeel* I can’t believe I’m married) loves carrot cake so I decided to make something a little easier to nibble on while mingling with guests and came up with Carrot Cake Doughnuts with a Triple Sec Cream Cheese Frosting (recipe to come next)!

IMG_3486
Carrot Cake Doughnuts

 

Carrot Cake Doughnuts

Gluten Free and Vegan

 

Ingredients:

  • -1 Ripe plantain
  • -1/4c maple syrup
  • 2T vanillaextract
  • 1/8t uncut stevia
  • 1c oat flour (GF)
  • 1/4c ea. coconut flour, arrowroot starch
  • 1t ea. baking soda; baking powder
  • 1c shredded carrots
  • 1T cinnamon
  • 1t nutmeg
  • 1/4t cloves (ground)
  • 1 flax (or chia) egg
  • pinch of salt
  • *optional: raisins, chopped walnuts

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 320F and lightly grease your doughnut pan.

Blend together the plantain and wet ingredients.  In a separate bowl sift together dry ingredients.  Pour wet into dry and mix well.  Now mix in your flax egg.  Stir in shredded carrots and other optional ingredients until combined.

Divide the batter into the doughnut pan and bake for 16-18 minutes.  When finished let them cool a few minutes on the counter before removing.  Once cooled, let the frosting begin!

 

The doughnuts may not have lasted, but this marriage will!… (pardon my cheeziness!)

JK Sparklers (3)

One thought on “Carrot Cake Doughnuts and Holistic Healing

Leave a Reply

