Dairy Free · Desserts · Frosting · Gluten Free · Holiday · Plantains · Vegan

Birthday Cake

Yet another long overdue post but with work, wedding planning, working on a side business (no details yet), and life in general, updating my blog is becoming a back burner item. But with my birthday coming up *woo-hoo*, I wanted to share with you the recipe for the delicious cake I made my for my brother… last month… better late than never, right?

Again, I made the cake for my brother and while he does not live in this state, I still made it (and ate it) for him. If his birthday cake looks a bit patriotic, that’s because it is! His birthday is the Fourth of July, not only that, but he also serves in the United States Air force, so he is the all American guy and my hero.

Enough gushing about the awesomeness that is my brother, let’s have cake!

 

 

Yellow (Birthday) Cake
Yellow (Birthday) Cake

Yellow Cake

gluten free, vegan

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe plantains
  • 1 1/3c almond milk
  • 1/4c coconut oil
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1/4c maple syrup
  • 1 1/2T apple cider vinegar
  • 1c sorghum flour (brown rice flour, or any gf all-purpose flour will work)
  • 1/2c arrowroot starch
  • 1/2c coconut flour
  • 1T baking powder
  • 1T baking soda
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1t vanilla vodka (optional)
  • 1/8t stevia
  • 2 flax eggs (2T flax meal + 6T water; let gel together 5min)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease on 10″ round pan or two 8×8″ round (for a layered cake) pans, or a 9×13″ pan.

yellow cake ingredients

Blend your plantain and liquids.   Sift together the dry ingredients very well (otherwise you wind up with little bits of flour in your otherwise wonderfully delicious cake).

yellow cake batter

Pour wet ingredients into the dry.  Add two flax eggs and combine mixture.

yellow cake baking

Pour batter into greased pan(s) and bake 25-30min.

 

Remove pan(s) from oven and let cool before frosting.

 frosting

Frostings:

For the frosting, I used my White Frosting recipe.  Actually, truth be told, I tried to make a frosting with a protein powder and tofu and I thought it was gross… fiancé liked it… so I whipped up a new batch of frosting.  For any chocolate lovers, try my  super Simple Chocolate Frosting.  Of course, maple cream might be good, too… so many frostings!

 cake

So what’s not to enjoy?  A cake (that is surprisingly healthy) and smothered in delicious frosting (the second batch that is)… seconds, please!?

Leave a Reply

