Dairy Free · Dressings and Dips · Grain Free · Holiday · Sides · Vegan

Carrot and Parsnip Mash

Do you sometimes feel like your life is uber busy?  I feel like I live in a whirl wind of work, life and more awesomeness.  One week I was in California, the next week at a race, then working long hours, Church, time with friends, a surprise stay-cation with the boyfriend, and wouldn’t you know it?  Back to California next week!  If that was a lot to read, believe me, it’s a lot to do.

carrot and parsnip savannah carrot and parsnip race

Despite the business of life, I still love to take time to sit and eat a good dinner with my loved ones.  I’m a little obsessive about it actually.  Sitting down and reflecting and sharing with the people you are living life with is so important and it gives me an excuse to try new recipes on my victims loved ones….

carrot and parsnip girls

I’m so used to passing the mashed potatoes at dinner but this time I went a new direction with my root vegetables.  Carrot and parsnip mash!  It could not be any easier and has such a fresh and down-to-earth taste, you may be swapping your spuds out more often.

Carrot & Parsnip Mash
Carrot & Parsnip Mash

Carrot and Parsnip Mash

(vegan, grain free)

Ingredients:

  • 6  medium-large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 3  medium parsnips, peeled and chopped
  • 1/4 coconut milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1T dried thyme [though fresh might be better…)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Bring a pot with 1/2c salted water to a boil.  Once it’s boiling, toss in your chopped root vegetables.  Bring the water from high heat to medium and let steam 15-20 minutes until soft.

carrot and parsnip

(rainbow carrots)

Begin to mash the vegetables adding the coconut milk and thyme and mashing until it’s the consistency you like.  I like ’em mushy!  Add salt and pepper to taste. [A teaspoon or two of coconut oil might be good, too.  Let me know if you try!]

Another simple side dish for your next dinner.  Food should not be complicated.  Healthy, wholesome and simple is best.  This mash doesn’t taste like your everyday mashed potatoes.  The carrots lend a smooth sweetness that is countered by the spice of the parsnips.  The coconut milk and thyme blend and smooth the sweet and spicy duo.  Enjoy!

carrot and parsnip JK

Leave a Reply

