Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Raw · Vegan

Raspberry Balsamic Chocolate Pie

I love family dinners.  My mom makes the most fantastic meals (and a special vegan dish for me and the boyfriend) and my responsibility, much like at the holidays, is dessert!  So, I love family dinners and I love dessert.  I think I’m pretty easy to please.  This last family dinner was a belated birthday celebration for one of my brother’s and the boyfriend.  As usual, mom was shopping for dinner all week and I should have been in dessert planning mode but with all the traveling and time spent with a certain someone special, I had no time to prep! [not that I’m complaining, haha].

IMG_2799

So in a mad rush after work and before the dinner that evening I came up with this deliciously creamy pie.  Minimal ingredients and time needed, the key is to have a delicious flavored balsamic on hand.

IMG_2807

(Yup, still marinating in my Seahawks victory!)

  I have a raspberry and a pomegranate at home but the raspberry is my favorite, so go ahead and choose your favorite.  Not quite sure how regular balsamic will work but if you try it, let me know!  Anyway, here’s the pie:

Raspberry Balsamic Chocolate Pie
Raspberry Balsamic Chocolate Pie

Raspberry Balsamic Chocolate Pie

 

vegan, gluten free

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 package silken tofu (shelf stable variety, not refrigerated because they taste funny)
  • 1 generous cup chocolate chips; or your favorite crushed chocolate bars
  • 2t cacao powder
  • 1/4 c raspberries
  • 3T raspberry balsamic
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • *optional stevia if the chocolate is just not cutting it for you

Directions:

In a food processor, begin to process the tofu, balsamic, raspberries and vanilla until creamy.  Now you’ll add in the two teaspoons of cacao powder.  In a separate bowl carefully melt the chocolate.  You can do this over the stove top or pop it in the microwave for about 15 seconds at a time (stir in between).  When the chocolate is nicely melted, add it to the food processor and blend, blend, blend.  All in all, this recipe takes about 5 minutes to make (and even less to consume, it’s yummy).

IMG_2805

When you’ve finished, pour the contents of the food processor into a prepared pie crust and place in the fridge to cool for an hour or two.  This pie will freeze well, too!

For my pie crust I used walnuts, dates and a few store bought “oreos” [vegan and gf variety!].  Next time I’ll probably skip the “oreos” and just use cacao powder and coconut but it was a special occasion.

IMG_2809

And speaking of special occasions, maybe you can whip this up for your loved ones tonight.  Happy Valentine’s Day!

IMG_2758

One thought on “Raspberry Balsamic Chocolate Pie

Leave a Reply

