Dairy Free · Dressings and Dips · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Raw · Uncategorized · Vegan

Sun Dried Tomato Spread

I’m so use to making food for my close friends and family.  When they or my boyfriend compliment me, I take it with a grain of salt assuming that they are only being nice.  However, this weekend I had the opportunity to make some of my special desserts and snacks for a small party that included guests I don’t know, as well as, a highly acclaimed chef.  Receiving compliments from them (sorry family) was incredibly flattering.

Amongst the snacks I made was a sun dried tomato spread.  I love the taste of sun dried tomatoes and they lend such a unique flavor to everything from salads to sushi!  This spread, however, is good with plain ol’ crackers.

Sun Dried Tomato Spread
Sun Dried Tomato Spread

Sun Dried Tomato Spread

grain free, vegan

Ingredients:

  • 1/2c sunflower seeds
  • 1/4c hemp seeds
  • 1/2c sun dried tomatoes (I used the dry variety, not the oil laden)
  • 2T tomato paste
  • 1T nutritional yeast
  • 1t onion powder
  • 1T tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 2T olive oil (mine is infused with basil, you could just add a teaspoon dried basil to EVOO)
  • 2 or more tablespoons of water (for consistency)
  • 1/4t salt (smoked salt would be amazing)

Directions:

Pulse sunflower seeds and hemp seeds until crumbly.  Next, I tossed in my sun dried tomatoes, olive oil and tamari.  Process for a minute.  Add tomato paste, nutritional yeast, onion powder and salt; process until well combined.  At this point you can begin adding water a table spoon at a time to reach your desired consistency.  I keep mine super thick!  You’ll break a chip if you try to dip it, but using a “cheese” knife, it can be easily spread onto a cracker.

Sun dried Tomato spread

This recipe can be thrown together in minutes and gives a little variety to a vegan snack table aside from the usual hummus and guacamole (though I made that, too!).

Sun Dried Tomato Spread vegan

Maybe something to try while you watch my SEAHAWKS play in the Super Bowl!!!!!  Legion of Boom! (had to give a shout out to my favorite team).

Go Hawks! Go Seahawks Beast Mode                                Go Seahawks Orlando Go Seahawks!

Leave a Reply

