Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Holiday · Uncategorized · Vegan

Chocolate Dips

The holidays may be coming to an end, but there seems to be a never ending supply of leftover candies and cookies everywhere.  These Chocolate Dips have always been my favorites.  Of course now, my diet restrictions have changed in such a way that I can no longer eat Grandma’s originals, but not so much that I can’t make a cleaner, gluten free and vegan version.  Yup, these came out very well!  After eating a half a dozen in about 30 minutes, I’d say they’re still my Christmas cookie favorite.  I guess since it’s nearly Epiphany, I don’t have to restrict them to the category of “Christmas Cookies” but I really only make these during the Christmas season and I think I’ll keep it that way.

chocolate dips brody

Chocolate Dips

Vegan, gluten free

Christmas cookies like grandma
Chocolate Dip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1c coconut oil
  • 1/3c powdered sugar
  • 2T coconut flour
  • 2tvanilla extract
  • 2c gluten free flour
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1c quick cook oats
  • 1c or more chocolate chips (or generous cup of chocolate bar(s) of choice)
  • 1t coconut oil
  • (optional) Shredded coconut, sprinkles, ground nuts, cocoa nibs, etc…

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325F.  Mix coconut oil, sugar and coconut flour until creamy.  Next stir in vanilla flour and salt until well combined.  Finally, add in the oats (dough will be fairly stiff) and mix thoroughly.  Shape dough into crescents of equal size and about 2-3 inches long.  Bake for 25-30 minutes.

When the cookies have baked and cooled, begin preparing your chocolate.  In a small sauce pan pour in 1t coconut oil and the chocolate chips (or chunks) and melt on low heat so as not to burn the chocolate.  You can also add a table at a time of  non-dairy milk; you are looking for a smooth and thick consistency in which to dip the crescents (hence the name, chocolate dips).

When the cookies are cool, dip ends or tops of rounds into the chocolate and then in (optional) toppings of your choosing. I usually make these cookies only at Christmas, so I always use festive sprinkles for the holiday and coconut because I love coconut!

Christmas cookies with coconut oil

[Truth be told, these cookies look a bit messy because I was in a big hurry; but they are tasty!]

chocolate dips shinanigans chocolate dips my love chocolate dips momma daughter

Leave a Reply

