Dairy Free · Desserts · Frosting · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Plantains · Uncategorized · Vegan

Pumpkin Blondies

Hello all!

I know my posts recently have been brief but I’ve been uber busy and still in uber pain.  For those of you who don’t already know, yes, yes there is such a thing as running too much.  I recently experienced the consequences of running too much.  I now have pulled the tendons around my ankles (though the right side is feeling pretty good now) and I am walking with a very gangsta limp.

The lack of running over the last two weeks and drowning my sorrows in food is not helping my fitness level in any way.  So now I am trying to stay active with a combination of biking, weight lifting and yoga… but I’m still enjoying lots of delicious treats like these Pumpkin Blondies.  I topped these lovely ladies with some of my vegan cream cheeze and pomegranate seeds.

Grain Free Pumpkin Blondies
Grain Free Pumpkin Blondies

Pumpkin Blondies

grain free, vegan

Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe plantain
  • 1c pumpkin puree
  • 2T coconut oil
  • 2T maple syrup
  • 1 flax egg (1T ground flax + 3 T water, let gel 5 min) [ground chia seeds will work, as well]
  • 1/4c coconut flour
  • 1/8t stevia [or two packets stevia)
  • 2T arrowroot starch
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1tbaking soda
  • 2T pumpkin spice

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease an 8×8″ pan with coconut oil.  In a blender, combine the plantain with your liquid ingredients.  In a separate mixing bowl, stir together all of your dry ingredients.   Pour your blended ingredients and flax egg into the dry ingredients and stir together until the batter is well combined.

Spread the batter into your greased pan and allow to bake 25-30min.  After you’ve removed the Pumpkin Blondies from the oven, allow them to cool on the counter before cutting into them.

Pumpkin Blondie vegan grain free

Pumpkin Blondies grain free

While they are entirely delicious on their own, feel free to take a cue from me and frost them with some Vegan Cream Cheeze and pomegranate seeds or maybe even Coconut Frosting.

So while I wait for God’s divine healing on my ankle, I’ll eat a few more of these blondies!

coconut-lime-tahini

Chocolate Pumpkin Doughnuts (V, GF)

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Double Chocolate Pumpkin Bread (grain free, vegan)

Leave a Reply

