Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Plantains · Uncategorized · Vegan

Apple Strudel Bars

If I’ve not mentioned it enough in previous posts, my Momma is German, straight from Berlin.  I love her and all her German-ess that she’s passed along to me, everything from family recipes, traditions, candy and holidays, and oh yes, Oktoberfest!  Some people think of Oktoberfest as an all day beerfest (I can see why), but I like to take the opportunity to celebrate being German and sharing some of that with the friends in my life.

dirndle

This past weekend I had three Oktoberfest Celebrations, well, more like two and half.  The first was a very traditional version and yes, I rocked my new dirndle, listened to a few German tunes and ate a whole lot of red cabbage.

Oktoberfest FeastingOktoberfest RocktoberfestSquash and PomegranateLentil Bouletten (vegan)

The second Oktoberfest was a  “Rocktoberfest”.  The celebration consisted of vendors selling Sam Adams Oktoberfest beers, and brats on pretzel rolls while a local rock band performed good (though not German) music.  My date and I enjoyed the music while sipping on a few drinks  (Sam Adams and a German Reisling).  Because of my no meat, no wheat diet, no dairy diet (and his), I prepared my own Oktoberfest feast complete with vegan bouletten, an array of vegetable [hooray for more red cabbage!] and Apple Strudel Blondies.

I ‘m not just saying this because I made them, but I am seriously in love with these Apple Strudel Bars [there’s not even any chocolate in them, shocking!].

apple strudle blondies
Apple Strudel Bars

Apple Strudel Bars

(Vegan, Grain Free, Free of Refined Sugars)

serves 8

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe plantain
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 2T almond milk; or non dairy beverage of choice
  • 1/4c maple syrup
  • 3T coconut oil
  • 1/2c coconut flour
  • 1/2c arrowroot starch
  • 1/2t baking powder
  • 1 packet stevia (make sure it’s the real deal)
  • 1t cinnamon
  • 1/2t nutmeg (nutmeg through cloves can be replaced by 1t apple pie spice)
  • 1/8t all spice
  • 1/8t cloves
  • 2c cored, chopped apples (I used 2 small gala apples)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F and line a 9×5 loaf pan with parchment paper ( or double the recipe and use an 8×8 pan).  Blend together plantain and liquid ingredients.  In a large mixing bowl, sift together dry ingredients until thoroughly combined.

Pour your blended ingredients into the dry and stir batter well.  Fold in chopped apples until well mixed.

Pour batter into parchment lined (or well greased) loaf pan and place in preheated oven for 45 min.  When you remove your Apple Strudel Bars from the oven, allow to cool on the counter for 30 min… hard to resist cutting in right away, believe me, I know, but they will not hold up if you dig in too soon.

Apple Strudle

For not having any chocolate in them, these Apple Strudel Bars are one of my new favorite treats and a special tribute to my German heritage.  So whip up these Apple Strudel Bars, pour a glass of Riesling and enjoy.  “Prost!”

Apple Strudel (V, GF)

These bars are dense (like all delicious baked goods should be), very similar to a blondie.  These blondie-esque Apple Strudel Bars are free of all the refined sugars you’d find in traditional strudel, but the apples  in them create their own sweet juices and with the help of cinnamon and all the other apple pie spice, you have the most wonderfully flavorful dessert.

Leave a Reply

