Dairy Free · Desserts · Frosting · Gluten Free · Vegan

Cake Batter Frosting

Does anyone else love frosting?  I know I do.  I was the kid at the birthday party that took the biggest corner piece of cake and ate the frosting off the sides of the cake and out of the center.  Sometimes I had a little cake with my frosting, but you better believe there was a whole lot of frosting on that fork.

frosting

I was pretty picky when it came to frosting, even at a young age.  I was never a fan of the uber fluffy butter creams  but give me a spoon and a jar of Pillsbury frosting and I was a happy camper.  Nowadays it would seem I’m even pickier but I think I just raised the bar on what a deem real food and somehow artificial frosting just doesn’t cut it.  Fortunately, I’ve made a pretty darn delicious alternative, Cookie Cake Frosting!

9-16-2
White Bean Frosting

White Bean Frosting

16 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 can  or 1.5c prepared Northern white beans (garbanzo will also work)
  • 12-15 dates, pitted, soaked
  • 2T cashew butter (or any other nut or coconut butter)
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 2T maple or agave syrup, or stevia to sweeten
  • 1/2t baking soda (optional; but gives it more of a “cake” taste)
  • water or almond milk to thin to preferred consistency

Directions:

Place all of the ingredients in a food processor.  Add water or almond milk as needed and process until very smooth (it make to 5 or 6 minutes).

9-16-4

This frosting is thick like you might find in a jar of Pillsbury frosting, and because it’s not loaded with sugar and artificial ingredients, you won’t have to worry about that dreaded sugar hangover the next day.  I love to put this frosting on everything from baked plantains, and maple sweet potato doughnuts to any kind of brownie or blondie.  Then again, a spoon works just fine, too!

The frosting is simple, it’s not mind numbingly sweet and you can make it in less time then it takes to get to and from your nearest grocery store.

9-16-2

Check out these other frostings, too!

2 thoughts on “Cake Batter Frosting

Leave a Reply

