Beverages · Breakfast · Dairy Free · Uncategorized · Vegan

Chocolate Orange Smoothie

Does anyone remember those chocolate oranges?  You know, the one you whack across the counter [or across your little sister’s head… thank you big brother].

chocolate orange 3

I use to love those things (then I read the very long ingredient list) and the love for the chocolate orange was gone.  I’m more of a mint chocolate fan anyway, but once in a while that combination of chocolate and citrus is so tempting.

chocolate orange 2

At the end of my race Saturday, the event organizers handed out oranges, lots of oranges.  I didn’t mind taking more than a few oranges home with me because I knew I could come up with some way to use them.  As a juice/smoothie enthusiast, I thought I would take that route.  But I will always have an affinity for chocolate, so of course I had to use that, too.  So here it is, my Chocolate Orange Smoothie.  It’s the taste of a chocolate orange without the guilt. Score.

Chocolate Orange
“Chocolate Orange” Smoothie

(hidden Mickey, haha)

Chocolate Orange Smoothie (V, GF, No added Sugar)

serves 3 (or you could just use 1/3 the recipe for a single serve)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe banana
  • 1.5 oranges
  • 2c almond milk
  • 1c coconut water
  • generous 1/4c  cacao powder
  • 1c frozen peas, thawed
  • 3 carrots, peeled, chopped
  • 1.5c frozen cauliflower, thawed
  • 2T coconut flour [adds extra fiber and creamy goodness to the mix]
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • (optional) honey, stevia, maple or agave syrup to sweeten
  • handful of ice cubes (only if you’re drinking it right away)

Directions:

Super simple… just put all your ingredients in a high powered blender (i.e. Vitamix, Blendtec, Nutribullet, etc.).  Blend on high for about 2 minutes.

*You might get away with using a regular blender if you were to steam and cool your carrots first, but I would definitely add the ingredients in slowly.

I chose not to add any additional sweeter because the oranges are so nicely flavorful, and the banana and coconut water adds the perfect touch of natural sweetness.  Cacao (not cocoa) powder, non-dairy milk and coconut flour really emphasize that “milk chocolate” taste.  Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!

 

Be sure to check out my other smoothies, juices and drinks here!

Leave a Reply

