Dairy Free · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Sides · Vegan

Baked Plantains

This weekend is already off to a fantastic start beginning with a horrible game of golf.  My thought is that a horrible day of golf outside in the sunshine is still better than a day inside the office.  I was completely embarrassed about my game having played with some of the upper management of the work place.  But I didn’t stress too much because next I was off to a Halloween party hosted by MIckey Mouse!

 

 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween 2013

 

mudrun 4(This is not enhanced, the fireworks were just that awesome)

My girlfriends and I (are not too old to trick-or-treat) went as the “Horizontal Running Team” with clever sayings on the back of each of our shirts – “I Run for Wine” was on the back of mine!

mudrun 3 mud run 5

And speaking of wine and running, my next adventure of the weekend was the Blueberry Wine Stomp Run.  What do mud, wine and Bat Girl have in common?  Absolutely nothing.  But I participated in a mudrun as Bat Girl and was served wine after the finish.  All these other races give you beer, gluten filled beer, but not here.  Yay for WINE!

mudrun 2 mudrun

I took first in my wave, second in overall women and even scored a free bottle of wine for my costume!

Bananas are the recovery go-to for a lot of people but I decided to mix it up with a simple baked plantain (nutrition info. here).

plantain
Baked Plantains

Baked Plantains

Ingredients:

  • plantains (follow the link for more plantain recipes)
  • whatever you’d like to enjoy with it.

Directions:

Preheat your over to 400F.  Line a baking tray with aluminum foil.  Remove the peel of your plantain(s) and lay on the lined baking tray.  Put your plantains in the oven to bake for 30-40 minutes.  When timber goes off, pull your plantains out and flip them over.  Because I don’t use oil, the plantains stick a bit to the aluminum so it may take a little effort to flip them over.  Flip the plantains and bake another 15 min.

plantain 2

Plantains are so versatile and can be paired with just about everything, or eaten by themselves.  Slice your plantain down the center and stuff it with guacamole (like my sweet and spicy guac),  simple chocolate frosting, coconut frosting, or your favorite nut butter.

plantain 3

I stuffed mine with peanut butter, shredded coconut and cacao  nibs; delish!  Hope everyone finds something fun and exciting to do this weekend and maybe challenging, too!

Leave a Reply

