Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Vegan

Mint Ice Cream

15k at 7:00am done!  I was pretty impressed with myself considering I’ve done more eating than training in the last two weeks.  Fortunately I was able to race 9.3 miles in 1hr and 26 minutes.  I am not a “runner” but I like to challenge myself and my goal was  to keep a 10 minute mile ; I did even better!  *happy dance*

The real challenge was running… without obstacles. just running. that’s it.

 

blue3

 

For the last several months I’ve been running obstacle races and mud runs so it was strange to run without having to scale a wall or crawl through the mud under barbed-wire.  On the plus side, I didn’t have to scrub layers of mud off in the shower.  But there’s always next week (Blueberry Wine Run)!

blueberryblue2 blue4

 

Most people eat a banana to recover after a race, but I wanted to step it up a notch.  After I took my body weight in free bananas at the finish line I headed home to make ice cream!

 

photo 2
Vegan Mint Ice Cream

 

Mint Ice Cream (Vegan)

Serves 4 (or 2 Palkie sized bowls)

 

Ingredients:

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 2c almond milk (or “milk” of choice)
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 avocado
  • 2t peppermint extract
  • (optional) 1/8t uncut stevia
  • optional add-ins:  cocoa nibs, crushed cookies, chocolate chips, coconut… whatever you like!

Directions:

Put all of your ingredients (except for the add-ins) in a blender and, well, blend.

 

 

photo 3-1

 

Pour mixture into your ice cream maker and let it church for 15 minutes.  After the 15 minutes, while the machine is running, sprinkle in whatever add-ins you wish.  Run ice cream maker another 5 minutes.

 

 

photo 5 photo 4photo 5-1

 Dish out the ice cream in your favorite bowls and place any left overs in an airtight container in the freezer.

 

securedownload

 

I love when my ice cream gets all melty

ice cream

Melty ice cream  + warm brownie + fresh brewed coffee= a whole lot of goodness

.photo 1-1

I scream, you scream, let’s all scream for Ice Cream!!!!

Leave a Reply

