Beverages · Breakfast · Dairy Free · Gluten Free · Uncategorized · Vegan

Carrots and Green Juice

Good morning kids!  It has just occurred to me that I have a 15k to run tomorrow morning.  I am super stoked for the run, however, it has also occurred to me that I have not raced in over a month.  Train for a race?  What’s that?

Nope, I don’t “train” for anything.  I hope that my consistent cardio and generally healthy eating will get me through. I say “generally healthy” because some nights there is no off-switch on my stomach… why eat one brownie when I could eat four?  No matter what healthy ingredients I use, there is such a thing as too much of a good thing.

portion size
Yup… still true…

Oh well!  This race should be good so long as I never stop running.  I’ll be drinking this Carrots and Green Juice before the race to get me to the finish line.

carrot juice
Carrots & Green Juice

Carrots & Green Juice

make 3 giant servings

Ingredients:

  • 4 large carrots (peeled)
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 2 handfuls Romaine lettuce
  • 1 large banana
  • 1 large apple
  • 1 lemon
  • 2c coconut water
  • 1c water
  • (optional) handful of grapes for extra sweetness, coconut oil and/or chia seeds just for kicks!

Directions:

  • Throw your ingredients in a high powered blender and give it a whirl!

carrot juice 2

I divide my juice in three jars so I have  grab-n-go breakfasts for a few days.

carrot juice3

[I use a vitamix s5200 that I purchased at Costco for an awesome deal.  The in-store purchase saved me about $120, and yes, the blender was still expensive but it’s incredible!!!!  Other options include the blendtec and the nutribullet, though I can’t personally vouch for either.]

Are you a fan of juices and smoothies?  Give some of these recipes a try!

Why use celery in your juice?

celery

Do any of you train (or not train) for your races and competitions?  Anyone else struggle with stuffing your belly with too much good food?  Or any other issues?

 

Blessings!

”No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

 

Pineapple Green Juice

 
Chocolate Smoothie

Orange Green Juice

Super Smoothie

Leave a Reply

