Dairy Free · Desserts · Frosting · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Plantains · Vegan

Cake and Horror Nights!

As Halloween approaches, that’s when the scary movies start rolling in… not cool.  Me + scary movies = dangerous situation.  I once kicked a gentleman in the back of the head at the movie theater when I jumped out of my seat.  He was not amused.  And now these movies are on TV at the gym; is there no place I can hide

Goblin green (thanks to my iphone, but you get the idea.
Goblin green (thanks to my iphone, but you get the idea.

Worse yet, one of my brothers was cast in Universal’s Halloween Horror Nights.  I love my family so much that I fueled myself with liquid courage and entered the terrifying theme park just to see him in action.  The Bill & Ted Show was “most excellent” and I was glad to witness my brother in action.  Today, however, I am paying for it.  This girl needs eight hours of sleep.  Three just won’t cut it!

What to do when you’re exhausted?  Chill out and eat cake!

cake
Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting (V, Grain free, low sugar)

Yellow Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe plantains
  • 1 1/3c almond milk
  • 1/4c coconut oil
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1/3c maple syrup
  • 1 1/2T apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2c arrowroot starch
  • 1/2c coconut flour
  • 1T baking powder
  • 1T baking soda
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1t rum (optional)
  • 1T cinnamon
  • 1/8t stevia
  • 2 flax eggs (2T flax meal + 6T water; let gel together 5min)

Frosting:

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease on 10″ round pan or two 8×8″ round (for a layered cake) pans, or a 9×13″ pan.

yellow cake ingredients

Blend plantains and liquids.   Stir together dry ingredients.

yellow cake batter

Pour wet ingredients into the dry.  Add two flax eggs and combine mixture.

yellow cake baking

Pour batter into greased pan(s) and bake 25-30min.

yellow cake

Remove pan(s) from oven and let cool before frosting.

cake

Just a heads up, this is not a light and fluffy cake (I don’t do light and fluffy, haha).  But this cake is much like a blondie, meaning it’s very dense (hehe, little bit of a pun).

So what’s not to enjoy?  A dense yellow cake (that is surprisingly healthy) and smothered in delicious chocolate… seconds, please!?

Leave a Reply

