Dairy Free · Dinner · Gluten Free · Peppers · Uncategorized · Vegan

My Little German Has Returned

My mom, one of the coolest people I know, and whom I do everything with has finally returned!

mom
Up at 4am with me for a charity run

My parents both went to Germany last month to visit my Oma [German for grandmother], and while my dad only stayed the week, my momma stayed for a month and caught up with family and friends.

At last she is safe and sound in the good ol’ USA, and better yet, she brought back lots of German goodies! Toll [great]!

mom2

Some of you may remember a previous post where I mentioned my new dirndle, well let’s add more cute clothes, the best red cabbage in the world and tons of chocolate and candy to the mix of souvenirs!

I’m not a big candy eater, but German candy brings back good memories and tastes so much better than any American candy you could name.

SIDE NOTE- Even some of the “German candy” you find in the store is still manufactured in the USA, using the same terrible preservatives and food colorings that are banned in most other countries.  (*steps off soap box*)

In addition to all the sweets I love, I am a huge fan of red cabbage, saurkraut and other non-sweet German treats which is how I came up with my Stuffed Chard.

Stuffed Chard Leaves

night cabbage
Stuffed “Cabbage”

serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 6 swiss chard leaves (cabbage would work; but I didn’t have any)
  • 1c cooked brown rice
  • 1c cooked brown lentils
  • 1 jar of your favorite tomato sauce (read your label! Tomato sauce shouldn’t have more than 5-6g of sugar per 1/2c)
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 1c sliced peppers
  • 1c diced mushrooms
  • 1 garlic clove (minced)
  • 2T red pepper flakes

stuffed cabbage4

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Pour a thin layer of tomato sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 baking pan.

stuffed cabbage7

Saute your onions in a pan for about 5 minutes. [Use a little olive oil, coconut oil, broth or water to saute` your veggies].  Next you’ll add your garlic and red pepper flakes to the pan for about 30 seconds.  Toss in your mushrooms and peppers and let saute` for 3-4 minutes.  Place your saute mix in a large bowl.

stuffed cabbage8     stuffed cabbage6

 

 

 

 

 

To this bowl of veggies you’ll also mix in your rice, lentils and 3/4c tomato sauce (add more sauce if it looks too dry).  Set your saucy stuffing to the side.

 

stuffed cabbage5

On the stove top or in the microwave,  steam your 6 large chard leaves so that they’re pliable or bendy.  Put about 1/3c of your mixture into the center of each leaf, wrap leaf and place seam side down on your baking pan.

stuffed cabbage

Do this with the rest of your leaves and stuffing.  Pour the remaining tomato sauce over your stuffed leaves and bake 25-30 minutes.

stuffed cabbage3

I topped mine with some nutritional yeast and served it along with saurkraut and steamed green beans.

stuffed cabbage2

And now I have plenty of lunches to bring to work! Alles gute!

Leave a Reply

