Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Grain Free · Vegan

Blueberry Lemonade Cookies

Good morning, err afternoon… Hope everyones weekend is off to an epic start.  No race this morning meant more time at the gym.  Devotionals, cycling and some weighted exercises.  If any of you are like myself and have a small frame, it’s important to add weights to your workout routines.  Having a small body frame often makes you susceptible to osteoporosis; broken bones are not sexy. haha.

Fueled up with a chocolate peach protein smoothie after the workout.

 

saturday 6

 

Today I’m sticking around the apartment for a while cleaning and watching football. Cleaning and taking care of pesky chores can be productive but sometimes I procrastinate and begin snacking all day!  Fortunately I try to only keep healthy treats and snacks in my fridge and cupboards.  Here’s a new favorite snack of mine…

 

saturday 3
Nacho Mom’s Fire Roasted Queso

 

I was recently surprised with a jar of this awesomely good queso cheese (big thank you to that individual!).  I usually make my own queso but I can pronounce every healthy ingredient in this jar of goodness and I’m loving every bite.

 

Salty snacks are great but I do have a killer sweet tooth.  That constant desire for something sweet is why I like to put a healthy spin on my homemade desserts.  I usually stick to with all things chocolate but it’s not for everyone and I did have some lemons and blueberries I wanted to call into action, hence my Lemonade Blueberry Cookies!

 

saturday 5
Blueberry Lemonade Cookies (V, GF)

 

Blueberry Lemonade Cookies

(Vegan, Grain Free)

 

Ingredients:

  • 2c almond meal
  • 1/4c arrowroot starch
  • 1/4c coconut flour
  • 1 lemon
  • 3/4c frozen blueberries
  • 1/4c honey (maple or agave syrup will work but honey with tea just goes together, right?)
  • 2T coconut oil (liquid)
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 2 packets stevia (or 1/8 uncut stevia)
  • 1 flax egg (1T flax meal + 3T water; set 5min to gel)

Directions:

Preheat over to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or lightly grease pan).  In a large mixing bowl, stir together dry ingredients.  Begin adding liquid ingredients.  Now add the juice and two teaspoons of zest from your one lemon.   Stir ingredients together and know that this dough will be very thick!  Mix in your frozen blueberries; use your hands if you’re not afraid to get messy!

Using a spoon (or your hands), scoop out dough and shape into ping pong sized balls.  Place dough balls on baking sheet and press down slightly (these cookies will not spread in the oven).  Bake for 6-8min.

 

These cookies are good for nibbling straight out of the oven or days later.  The texture is soft but not crumbly.  And while  the cookies have a touch of sweetness, it’s not overwhelming; they kind of remind me of itty bitty scones!

 

saturday 5

 

“Be joyful always.  Pray continually. And give thanks in all circumstances.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18  (FYI- my favorite verses!)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

