Beverages · Breakfast · Dairy Free · Gluten Free · Vegan

Super Food Friday

Good morning!

I was feeling particularly motivated to get to the gym this morning, hoping to squeeze in an extra training run.  I was under the impression I had a race tomorrow only to discover… it’s next week.  Oops!  So thankful I learned that before I woke up at 5am and drove 40 minutes to get downtown.  Hooray for sleeping in a bit tomorrow!

fri sleeping

 

So instead of a logging those extra miles, I wanted to challenge myself with a more high intensity workout (HITT).  After the usual bike and devotionals, I moved on to kettle balls, jumping jacks, pushups and… burpees!  I love doing burpees almost as much as I love the name.  Anyone else?

fri burpees

What better way to followup a super workout than with a Super Smoothie?

 

grn smoothie
Superfood Smoothie

Superfood Smoothie

(serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 2c almond milk (or more)
  • 1c pumpkin puree
  • 1 big handful of spinach
  • 2t maca powder
  • 2t spirulina (this will turn your drink green!)
  • 3T cacao powder
  • 1scoop vanilla protein powder (this is the one I use)
  • stevia, maple syrup, or honey to sweeten (to taste)
  • (optional) sprinkle with cacao nibs, or add 1T coconut flour when blending

Directions:

Put everything in your blender and blend (simple, right?).  I put mine in the fridge for a quick grab and go meal the next morning. If you’re drinking it right away, throw in some ice cubes!

 

What makes this green smoothie so super?   It’s these super ingredients:

Spirulina

fri spirulina
Spirulina

 

Maca

fri maca
Maca

Cacao

fri cacao
Cacao NOT Cocoa
fri cacao 2
Benefits of Cacao

 

Feeling super yet?  You should!  Not to mention, all the benefits you receive from pumpkin and spinach like vitamins, fiber, iron and calcium, to name a few!

Drink up, go out, and enjoy a Super(food) Friday!

index

 

Leave a Reply

