Dairy Free · Dinner · Gluten Free · Quinoa · Uncategorized · Vegan

Mexican Baked Tofu

Anyone else love getting up bright and early to workout?  I do!  I like working out early for a few reasons:

1) I feel like I’ve already had a very productive day before the work day begins,

2) there’s no one else in the gym – my machines are free, I control the TVs, and I can sing aloud to whatever song comes on the ipod (I might still do that with people around, haha)

tvtv 2 gym

3) And here’s the biggie, I don’t have to hope I’ll have time later.  [Bonus- if I don’t have anything planned, I can enjoy a second workout!]

Yesterday I’d hoped  to get in another workout but while my momma is away, I feel it my responsibility to harass spend quality time with my dad.  So what did I do?  I rushed home quickly to make my own dinner (my dad is most definitely a carnivore), and drove of to the folk’s place.  Nothing could be so simple and healthful has this Mexican Baked Tofu.

 

Mexi Baked Tofu
Mexi Baked Tofu

 

Mexican Baked Tofu

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 6oz. Firm, or extra firm, tofu cubed (look for sprouted and/or non GMO)
  • 1c favorite black bean soup
  • 1.5c frozen mixed veggies
  • 2T cumin
  • 1/2t salt (smoked salt is awesome if you can find it!)
  • 1T cayenne pepper
  • 1T onion powder
  • (optional) other diced veggies like onions, peppers, jalapenos, even plantains!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 420F.  Line 9×13″ pan with aluminum foil.  Scatter tofu cubes over foil and salt.  Scatter whatever vegetables you have over the tofu and pour black bean soup over all of it.  Sprinkle remaining seasonings evenly over everything and toss together.

 

fav mexi baked tofu

 

Finally make sure everything is spread out across the pan to bake evenly and stick it in the oven.  Let bake 20min.  Remove the pan from the oven and give everything a toss; place back in the oven to bake another ten minutes.

 

soup quinoa salsa

I tossed half of the Mexican tofu bake with some salsa, steamed brussel sprouts and red quinoa (pronounced keen-wah).  If it seems like I eat a lot of quinoa it’s because I do.  I bought it.  I’m going to use it.  Quinoa is great because  it is a pseudo-grain, so it acts like brown rice or couscous but it is actually a seed.  It is also gluten free and packed with protein, oh, and it’s good, too.

quinoa
Quinoa Fun Facts

 

If you don’t like happen to have any delicious quinoa left in the house, you could toss the mexi baked tofu over brown rice or a salad or nothing at all!  It’s entirely delicious on it’s own.

Leave a Reply

