Breakfast · Dairy Free · Gluten Free · Uncategorized · Vegan

Sharknado Night

I had every intention of participating in a 5k race this morning (my hip seems to be nearly back to normal), but life happens and I didn’t make it.  Instead I started the morning with 25 miles on the bike, a quick mile run and some light weight lifting.

Refreshed myself with some of God’s word

bikram you

“Lord, let the morning bring with it word of your unfailing love for I have put my trust in you.  Show me the way in which I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.” Psalm 43:8

and a pineapple green juice before I headed out the door to meet Gretchen for bikram yoga.  Apparently I’m a glutton for the gym!  Bikram will have you sweating like a champ, so I added a tablespoon of chia seeds and coconut oil to keep me hydrated.

bikram juice

Feeling pretty well wiped after the morning of workouts, I recovered with a pina` colada quinoa bowl.

PIna`Colada Quinoa
PIna`Colada Quinoa

Pina`Colada Quinoa Bowl

Ingredients:

  • 1/4c quinoa (I used red quinoa)
  • 1/2c coconut water
  • 1/2c frozen cauliflower (thawed)
  • 1/2 frozen pineapple (or mango)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/4c almond milk ( or whatever your preference in the consistency)
  • (optional) shredded coconut, macadamia nuts,  scoop vanilla protein powder

Directions:

Bring quinoa and coconut water to a boil, then let simmer 15 minutes till done.  In a food processor or blender, add thawed cauliflower and frozen fruit.  Blend.

bikram pinacolada

 Add almond milk and optional scoop protein powder until you reach the consistency you like.  You could even add some spinach but be prepared, your mix will turn green.  Pour mix over quinoa and eat.  I added vanilla protein powder to my mix and topped it with shredded coconut and macadamia nuts.  Like paradise in a bowl.

Next up, Sharknado!!!!!… doesn’t it look awesomely terrible!?  I was stoked.  It really is ridiculously bad.

bikram sharknado

And while everyone munched on non-gf pasta and meat sauce, I ate  my own “Spaghetti and meat sauce”.  Recipe to come….

Spaghetti Squash

I was, however, able to enjoy the wine!  Believe me, you’ll need a good bottle of wine if you’re going to try and enjoy Sharknado.

Leave a Reply

