Beverages · Dairy Free · Gluten Free · Vegan

Wine and Almond Milk

Did everyone have a nice transition back to work?  I like my job very much and the people are wonderful but wrapping up the prior month’s paperwork was just a wee bit frustrating.  When I got home I needed to unwind a bit.  I went for a walk, prayed and just enjoyed being outside in this gorgeous Florida weather.

A few weeks ago a friend of mine bought me a wifi Blu Ray player for my birthday!  Crazy right?  I think he’s been invited to more birthday parties than he can handle after my other guests saw that.

blu ray

the ladies that helped me celebrate the big 28
The ladies that helped me celebrate the big 28

When I got back from my walk I decided to play around with this new gift and I stumbled upon some cool things like Netflix, Amazon Prime and Tara Stiles Yoga!!!!  There are literally dozens, if not hundreds, of FREE yoga videos.  Needless to say I immediately proceeded to do some yoga.

 

Dinner was left over stuffed peppers

final peppers

 

and since I could still use a little more un-WINE-ding…

new wine
Line 39 Cabernet

I opened up this delightful bottle I’d picked up in Winter Park.  A really bright Cabernet with strawberry undertones (for you Wineys like myself).  I paired it with another pink pearl apple and a little dark chocolate.

wine apple dates

Because I can only sit still so long before I have to do something, I made almond milk.  So simple to do.

 

Almond Milk

Ingredients:

  • 1c almonds (soak overnight if you can)
  • 4c filtered water
  • 1T vanilla extract (omit for plain flavor)
  • (optional) sweeten with dates, honey, stevia, whatever.

Directions:

Blend all ingredients (regular blenders work, too).  Depending on how powerful your blender is, you may need to blend for another minute or two.  Next, using a nut bag (hehehe) or cheesecloth, strain liquid into a container.

pouring am

[I use a rubberband to hold it in place because the straining can take a while].  Discard the almond pulp  and enjoy your delicious almond milk!

almond milk

I don’t throw away my almond pulp, I use it for other recipes.  You could toss it in a smoothie or oatmeal, dry it out and grind it up to use for almond flour… lots of possibilities.

21 thoughts on “Wine and Almond Milk

Leave a Reply

