Dairy Free · Dinner · Gluten Free · Peppers · Plantains · Quinoa · Soup · Uncategorized · Vegan

Labor Day

Hope everyone enjoyed their Labor Day weekend!  I know I did.  I was fortunate enough to have the holiday off of work and what did I do?  Workout and work around the apartment, hehe.  At least it wasn’t office work, right? I felt so productive cleaning and making meals for the week.  Can you guess what was for dinner (I’ll tell you later)???

 

final peppers

 

I was hoping to treat myself to some time on the driving range, and then this came up…

 

storm at golf

 

I went for it anyway!  I only took two clubs with me and my plan was to run the moment I felt a sprinkle of rain.  No sprinkle came, instead it was like someone turned the hose on me!

 

rain on car

 

I made a mad dash to the car and thankfully the guy in the shop didn’t charge me (happy dance).

So instead of treating myself to golf, I treated myself to this,

pink pearl apple

a pink pearl apple.  So stinkin’ cute for an apple, that is.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I spent the rest of the Labor Day watching a movie and eating dinner with my dad (momma’s still in Deutschland).  My dad picked the movie, Fail Safe.

fail-safe

 

Never heard of it before but I kind of enjoyed it, though not as much as these stuffed peppers I made!

 

 

final peppers

 

Stuffed Peppers (serves 4):

Ingredients

  • 2 large peppers (I used green but use what you like)
  • 1c dry quinoa and prepare as directed
  • 1c black bean soup
  • 1c corn
  • 1/2 diced onion
  • 1c veggie of choice (I used celery because I had it on hand; I think tomatoes would be stellar)
  • 1 plantain diced
  • 1t smoked salt (any salt will do)
  • 2T each cumin, chili powder

Directions

Preheat oven to 450F and line a baking pan with aluminum foil.  Slice and core peppers in half and place cut side up in baking pan.

 

soup quinoa salsa sliced peppers

In a seperate bowl stir together prepared quinoa and veggies and diced plantain.  Pour black bean soup over quinoa and veggie mixture.  Sprinkle in your seasonings and mix well to combine.

 

pour soup
I used TJ’s Latin Style Black Bean Soup

quinoa veggies season

 

 

Divide between the four pepper halves.   This is a generous amount so allow the mixture to pour over.  Bake for 40min.

 

overstuffed pepper final peppers

 

 

I topped these peppers with a little nutritional yeast (feel free to use the cheese of your liking; or omit entirely) and a little salsa.  These peppers are savory from all the seasonings with just a hint of sweet Caribbean flair from the plantains.  Looking forward to dinner again tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

