Dairy Free · Desserts · Gluten Free · Plantains · Uncategorized · Vegan

“I’ll give it a whirl”

Please be patient with me as I am very new to this “blogging” thing and I am not the most technologically inclined.  That being said, “I’ll give it a whirl.”  That’s a quote from Home Alone (I’m a movie addict!)… Kevin is asking how the frozen mac n’ cheese is and the cashier doesn’t know, to which he replies, “I’ll give it a whirl.”  Sort of my motto when I want to try something new and don’t really have all the facts.  Here goes…

I love to run and do yoga and sometimes I will blow off happy hour with the friends just for some time in my workout kicks.  Well this last week it was storming a bit and I felt inspired to run (in Florida it’s still 80 degrees, so it’s like running through a water park).

savage run

I was not only inspired to run but to throw in some obstacles… benches, curbs, monkey bars, and stairs.  The stairs are what brought my running high to a low; literally.  I fell down the stairs.  After laying there a minute and realizing I’m not five, crying will do nothing, and I’m a single gal so there is no one helping me up, I hobbled to my apartment.

This is when food inspiration set in… and the wine… I created Coconut, Lime and Tahini blondies!  Delish!  Ready for some of this goodness?…

coconut lime tahini

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe plantain
  • 3T coconut oil
  • 1/4c maple syrup (agave and honey will work, too)
  • 1T vanilla extract; 2T lime juice; and a little zest, too!
  • 30 drops liquid stevia (or sweetened to taste)
  • 1/4c Tahini
  • 1/4 c coconut flour and 1/4c arrowroot starch
  • 1t each baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon
  • 2 flax eggs (2T flax plus 6T water; stir together let gel 5 min)
  • 1/3c shredded coconut
  • 1/3-1/2c white chocolate chips (or coconut butter chips!)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 F and grease or line with parchment paper a 9×9 or 8×8 baking pan.  In a blender (or an awesome Vitamix), blend the all your liquids until smooth in consistency.  In mixing bowl stir together dry ingredients.  Pour in liquids and stir together.  Stir in chips of choice.  Pour into prepped baking pan and bake 25-30min.  Then Enjoy!  They might also be delightful with a lime glaze… 1/2c powdered sugar, little water, little lime and zest… next time.

[coconut butter chips were made by blending a touch of maple syrup, 1/2c coconut butter and a banana.  place mixture in fridge to harden.  break off little white chocolate chip sized pieces and stir into batter.]

Anyway, this was the recipe that came out of falling down stairs, not having any sort of pain medication and opening a bottle of wine instead…

Enjoy the sunshine!

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

